Inspired by #CulturalLibertarian

We are rapidly forgetting that we are all human beings. All of us. I am a human being. I know I am a Lower middle class white man from England with an easy life,  but why should that ‘privilege’ prevent me from feeling empathy? From commenting on the experiences of others?
It seems as though we no longer seek to argue principles or ideologies, but fight battles over a person’s individual choices and identity. Our private bodies, thoughts and choices have become a public battleground.
I don’t care if you are a man or a woman.
I don’t care if you are fat or thin. I don’t care about what colour you are or what country you are from. I don’t care if you were brought up in an atheist or religious household. So long as it is with a consenting adult I don’t care what you do in the bedroom.
I care about what you think. What do you think? What do you believe? What do you want to do with your life?
Thinking this way frees you to argue and even fight against the oppression and persecution of human beings, no matter where it is happening and whatever the justification. It also frees you to recognise the suffering and struggle of human beings from any background, even if you could never fully stand in their shoes. What do you think?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

