Something nice.

My NQT observed a colleague of mine in English this week with a behaviour management focus, she was really impressed and I made a point of letting my colleague know this.

‘It’s good to hear something nice for a change’

Was the reply, because as an English Teacher and Head Of Year, that doesn’t happen often. I was really happy to be able to pass on the feedback and it linked in to an idea I have had (which I am sure others have had due to convergence)

The Idea

An email is sent out to staff listing all the main areas of teaching and learning, with perhaps some space for ‘other’. Staff can then voluntarily nominate as many or as few staff as they like that they think are excellent in that area, for example I could nominate my aforementioned colleague for behaviour management. These nominations are then collated.

Teachers with one or two nominations will get an email telling them what they were nominated for. Teachers with several nominations will be asked if they would like to run a CPD session.

I just feel like staff will get something positive said to them and the school might get some decent CPD out of it. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

